From: Bruce McDowell
Subject: Affiliation Review Submission - The Vote Band Model - Submitted by Bruce McDowell
Date: 26 February 2019 at 11:40:08 PM NZDT
To: Adam Gard'ner

Dear Adam,

Thank you for the opportunity to present my individual submission to the Affiliation Review. As you are likely aware, I have, since 2012, been a passionate advocate for fair and reasonable user pay fees and reducing Affiliation Fees with fair and equitable collection methods. I have always maintained that the more bands and the smaller the size of each band the fairer the affiliation fee model will become.

This submission is to present my Vote Band Model as an affiliation fee model that is considerably fairer and far superior to the current 7 Band (formerly 6 Band) model. This Vote Band Model aligns membership numbers, affiliation fees, and the new voting rights as established at the 2018 AGM. This is a logical approach to collecting affiliation fees, it fairly spreads the overall reduction in affiliation fees from 2016/17, and can be implemented without the need to provide concessions. New membership types can also be defined to introduce more cost effective memberships and through “equivalent memberships” tennis will benefit as participation increases. The small vote bands of 25 members also benefit TCRI as every 25 member increase in club/sub association membership will generate more revenue for TCRI, and the 24 free members and the smaller cost per band will encourage new and smaller clubs to affiliate or re-affiliate.

I believe the attachment in support of the subject is self explanatory however if any further information is required please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you for your time and thoughtful consideration,

Bruce M. McDowell
Taxation Accountant,
Registered Financial Advisor,
Burnside Park Tennis Club (BPTC) Accountant and Registered Tax Agent (2004 - present)
Volunteer Manager of Business House Tennis at BPTC (2008 - present)
BPTC Life Member (2011) and Committee Member (1990 - 2017 and 2018 - present)
Former BPTC Delegate (1998 - 2012)
Former TCRI Board Member (2012 - 2016)

The Vote Band Model